Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

 How it All Started...


 The Bob Buquor Memorial Star Crest skydiving awards were initiated in 1967 by Bill Newell as a tribute to a friend and mentor, the late Robert H. Buquor.  Buquor was one of the best early freefall photographers, and he pioneered structured relative work known as "star formations".  It was these early freefall formations that led the way to "mega" formations, sequential RW and most of the other forms of relative work being practiced today.

The Star Crest awards were formed to recognize relative work skydivers for in-air achievements and to honor the memory of Bob Buquor.  Newell's original purpose for forming the Star Crest awards was to record and preserve for parachuting history the accomplishments of Buquor, and the twenty or so skydivers who had participated in the first 8-way stars.  As time passed, and more skydivers became capable of forming 8-way and larger formations, Newell saw no reason not to include them on the "special roster".  Thus, the perpetual Star Crest awards program was born.  Beginning with the first 8-man star in 1965, to date, more than 26,000 various Star Crest awards have been issued.

Since its inception, the Star Crest awards program has become one of relative work skydiving's oldest and most universal traditions.  It is operated as a non-profit endeavor, and is dedicated to the advancement of relative work skydiving.  There is a per award fee, but once accepted there are no membership dues and you are a member for life.  You are then recognized as a ...

Select Type of Accomplished Relative worker

Combining Reliability Enthusiasm Skill and Teamwork.

Throughout skydiving history the last five decades, the Star Crest awards have been instrumental in the promotion and development of relative work skydiving worldwide.  From the basic SCR to the more progressive skydives, Star Crest award criteria has retained a certain format - qualifying skydives have to be fun, involve varying degrees of skill and teamwork, and be performed with an average number of jumpers out of readily available aircraft from normal altitudes. 

New SCR's, Z-Hills, 1969 Turkey Meet by Jerry Tyson

The program has grown from the original Star Crest Recipients (SCR) in 1965, to include the Star Crest Solo (SCS), and Night Star Crest Recipient (NSCR) in 1971, the Star Crest Skydiver Award (SCSA) in 1975, and the Night Star Crest Skydiver Award (NSCSA) in 1978.  In 1984, the BBMSC introduced the Universal Skydiver Award(USA).  In 2002, two new vertical/free fly awards were incorporated into the program; the Vertical Star Crest Recipient (vSCR), Vertical Star Crest Solo (vSCS) and on the 50th anniverary year of the 1st 8-way we introduce the HALO award (HSCR & HSCS) in 2015. 

Due to the increasing difficulty factor, the more advanced Star Crest awards have had fewer skydivers qualify respectively, with the USA having had only six teams qualify since 1984.  To date though, more skydivers hold SCR's and SCS's than any other freefall awards.  Everyone is a one-person star - if you want to build something bigger, you gotta do RW.

Share on Social Media